HYDERABAD CITY–AN AMALGAMATION OF CULTURES

I was brought up in the city of Hyderabad from the 60’s, in the heart of the city. It was extremely cosmopolitan. My neighbours were from the various parts of the country. So, the local language, Telugu, was not spoken by me. My mother tongue is Bengali. We joined a good Christian school. Our education took up in great strides. We celebrated all kinds of festivals, Hindu, Muslim, Christian, Parsi etc. The food was equally varied; the Irani tea, and biscuits, the biryani, the south Indian Idli and Dosas and many other national and international cuisines. The fashion was modern and the mood of the city was upbeat. I did my medical graduation and post graduation from there. I thank this city for making me a Man and what I am today..

Leave a Reply

